MacInTouch Amazon link...

phone services

Channels
Products, Questions
I have done a fairly extensive search on the interweb, and I have to say that it's awfully frustrating. I will be visiting the US for one month later in the summer, and I am looking for a pre-paid sim card that I can put in my (determined-to-be-compatible) iPhone 6 basically for data purposes only, using the 'personal hotspot' to tether my MacBook Pro.

Any suggestions or recommendations from someone who knows this area well would be greatly appreciated.

If you're planning to use much data, I think it will be painfully expensive. The U.S. is full of readily accessible WiFi when you're in a hotel, business, campground or host's home. For the times when you're remote, you can get a pre-paid SIM, but plan to only use it for basic email or low-bandwidth use.

A quick search for "prepaid SIM" turned up several companies. This one says it's "self-activating" which may ease some usage pain. I have no knowledge, experience or affiliation with them:

https://zipsim.us

I will be visiting the US for one month later in the summer, and I am looking for a pre-paid sim card that I can put in my (determined-to-be-compatible) iPhone 6 basically for data purposes only, using the 'personal hotspot' to tether my MacBook Pro.
I'm British and use the Three network here. Three mobile subscriptions have a roaming plan that includes the USA (3G only, due to frequency differentials, I assume) which permits the use of my data and call/text allowances when overseas (with some caveats)

I don't know if Henry L. is based this side of the pond or not, but I've always found this very useful.

In my city, which is a a popular tourist destination in the USA, every T-Mobile store promotes a special plan for foreign visitors. I've never had occasion to check out the details myself, but this appears to be a webpage that explains how it works:
T-Mobile said:
Tourist Plan